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 RECIPROCAL / TEMPORARY LICENSE APPLICATION 

 
I hereby make application to the 

LOUISIANA STATE BOARD OF EMBALMERS 
AND FUNERAL DIRECTORS 

STATE OF LOUISIANA 
3500 N. Causeway Blvd. Suite 1232, Metairie, LA  70002 

 
for an Embalmer and Funeral Director License and/or a Funeral Director License 

in accordance with State Law and Board requirements 
 

General Instructions and Important Notice:  Completion of this application form, seven (7) pages total, is necessary for 
consideration for licensure as an embalmer and funeral director in Louisiana, according to LA R.S. 37:831.  PLEASE 
RETURN ALL SEVEN (7) PAGES OF THIS APPLICATION.  Failure to disclose all requested information may result in this 
form not being processed and may subsequently result in denial of this application.  All candidates for initial licensure and 
renewal have a continuing obligation to update and supplement the information and responses on this application if they change.  
Failure to supplement the information and responses provided on this application may result in denial or other appropriate 
action.  All information provided must be accurate.  Please note that the information provided on this application is subject to 
the public information laws of this jurisdiction with the exception of certain information as required by law. 
 
Carefully follow the directions on this application form.  In addition, please note the following; 
1) Type or print legibly with black or blue ink only. This form may be typed and saved to a computer. 
2) Disclosure of your U.S. social security number is mandatory.  The social security number will be 
     provided to the Department of Child and Family services to assist in the identification of persons  
     who are delinquent in complying with a child support order, spousal support/alimony order or  
     in the repayment of educational loans. 
3) If the name shown on your supporting documents is different from that shown on your   
     application, you must submit proof of legal name change, a copy of your marriage license,   
     divorce decree, affidavit or court order. 
 
Supporting Documentation and Fees checklist:  
_____ Applicable fee - $250.00 (please add $20.00 if you choose the mail option, see below) 
_____ Temporary license permit fee - $100.00 (non-refundable)  
           PAYMENT total of $350.00 by check, money order, cashier’s check or debit/credit card – DO NOT SEND CASH 
_____ Letter from the Louisiana employer stating the date employment begins.  
_____ Two (2) notarized statements of two responsible persons attesting that applicant has not ceased the practice of the 
           Applicant MUST have a licensed for at least one (1) year prior to submitting this application. Internships will not count 
           for licensure status.  Your license will be verified by the state from which reciprocation is being made. 
_____ Letter from your last out of state employer stating dates of employment and reason for leaving employment.   
A license will not be issued if any of the following has not been received prior to the expiration date of the temporary permit. 
_____ High school diploma, transcript or GED equivalent 
_____ Copy of transcript or diploma from the mortuary science program/school (program MUST be accredited by the 
           ABFSE– American Board of Funeral Service Education) 
_____ Copy of license in good standing issued by another state, province, or jurisdiction recognized by this Board that has  
           been issued for not less than 1 year.  
____ Applicant MUST submit the attached certification of license verification form to the license board for the license held in  
           another state, province, or jurisdiction for confirmation. It is the applicant’s responsibility to verify if a fee is applicable  
           to the state board of licensure and secure the payment so that verification can be completed.   
_____ Certified copy of NBE, SBE and/or LRR scores sent directly from the ICFSEB. A copy will NOT be accepted. Applicant 
              MUST contact The Conference to request scores be forwarded directly to this office. 
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Your application is NOT considered complete until all supporting documents and fees have been received by the Louisiana 
State Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors.  If required items are being forwarded directly from an entity listed above, 
please call or email this office for receipt confirmation.  This office will NOT hold an application and fees while awaiting the 
delivery of requested items.   
DO NOT SUBMIT THIS APPLICATION UNTIL ALL DOCUMENTS HAVE BEEN VERIFIED AS RECEIVED OR THIS 
MAY RESULT IN THE RETURN OF THIS APPLICATION. 
 
PLEASE CHOOSE an OPTION below regarding the wall certificate (dimensions are 14 x 17 and suitable for framing): 
 
_________ Please hold my certificate, I prefer to pick up from the Board’s office.  
  Please include a telephone number below for notification that the certificate is ready for pick up. 
 
_________ Please send my certificate to the mailing address below; I understand that there is an additional 
                   fee of $20.00 required for certified return receipt postage.  Please note that the mailing address 
                   below must be correct and a signature will be required for acceptance of the package.   
 
 
PART I: PERSONAL 

First Name Middle Name Last Name 

Social Security Number Date of birth Male     ____ 
 
Female  ____ 

Telephone / contact number 
 

Street Address                                       City                                     State                                      Zip 

Mailing Address                                       City                                     State                                      Zip 

Certificate to be mailed to:  $15.00 fee must be included  

Email 

Identify any maiden name, surname, or any other names or aliases you have been known by or used and identify the reason for your name change:  
 

Are you a U.S. citizen?  ______ YES   ______NO 
If you answered no to the above, please specify if you are:  a qualified alien (as defined in 8 U.S.C.A. §1641), a nonimmigrant under the Immigration and 
Nationality Act (8 U.S.C.A. §1101 et seq), an alien who is paroled into the United States under * U.S.C.A. §1182 (d)(5) for less than one year, a foreign national no 
physically present in the United States.  If other, please explain: 
 

 
PART II: EDUCATION – List the educational institutions attended that satisfy the educational requirement for licensure: 

High School/GED institution attended 
 
 
 

Mortuary Science program attended accredited by the American Board of Funeral Service Education (ABFSE); Degree (official transcript required); date 
graduated; 
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PART III:  LICENSE IN OTHER JURISDICTIONS/STATES  
 
I hold license no. ___________________ issued by the State of _______________________________ Date ______________________ 
 
I hold license no. ___________________ issued by the State of _______________________________ Date ______________________ 
 
I hold license no. ___________________ issued by the State of _______________________________ Date ______________________ 
 
 
PART IV:  EXAMINATION INFORMATTION 

 
Have you passed the National Board Exam (NBE) administered by The International Conference of Funeral Service Examining 
Boards (ICFSEB)?  _______ YES    _______ NO  
 
If so, Month and year passed: __________________________________________________________________ 
 
*You must have a certified copy of your NBE results forwarded to this licensing agency directly from the ICFSEB. 
 

 
PART V:  PAST DISCIPLIANRY ACTION  
 
Have you ever had any license to practice embalming, funeral directing, or any other regulated profession, revoked, suspended, 
fined, placed on probation, reprimanded, or otherwise disciplined by any regulator authority in this state or any other state of 
jurisdiction? ______ YES     ______NO 
 
Do you have any actions pending? ______ YES     ______ NO 

 
PART VI:  CRIMINAL HISTORY  
 
Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor or a felony in this or any other state, local jurisdiction, or any other foreign 
country, or are criminal charges currently pending against you? ______YES     ______NO 
 
If yes, attach an explanation that included the type of violation, the date, circumstances and location and the complete penalty 
received.  Also include copies of court documents, arrest records, verification of restitution received by the court and verification 
of successful completion of probation.  You must include all misdemeanor and felony convictions regardless of the age of the 
conviction including those which have been set aside and/or dismissed.  Traffic violations of $500.00 or less need not be reported. 
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PART VII:  CERTIFYING STATEMENT 
 
I hereby certify under penalty of perjury that I have read this application in its entirety.  The responses and attached 
materials I have provided are true and accurate to the best of my knowledge.  I further certify that I am of good moral 
character and have reviewed and will at all times comply with all applicable state laws, rules and regulations governing the 
license I am seeking to obtain.  I hereby and direct any person, agency, firm, or other entity, to release upon request of the 
Louisiana State Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors, any information, communication, report, record, statement, 
recommendation or disclosure that may have bearing on my eligibility for or continuance of the license for which I am 
applying.  I understand that by signing this application, I am authorizing the release of information about me that may 
otherwise be protected and confidential. 
 
Additionally, I understand and agree that any false information, misrepresentation, or omission of facts in this application and 
during the application process is cause for denial of this application. 
 
 
  
    Signature_____________________________________________ 
                     Full name of Applicant  
 
Signed and Dated at  
 
____________________________________________ 
              City                                        State 
 
This the _________day of ______________________ 
                                                     Month/Year 
 
State of _____________________________________ 
 
Parish/County of _____________________________ 
 
Name________________________________________the above named person, personally known to me, signed the application 
in my presence and being duly sworn, he/she states that he/she read the above application and that the statements which 
he/she made therein are true to the best of his/her knowledge, information, and belief. 
 
 
 
____________________________________________       My Commission expires_______________________ 
                      Notary   Public  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
    Any discovered misstatements given herein will bring about the immediate revocation of any license granted to the applicant.   
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• Upon receipt, review and approval of the above, a temporary license, which will be in effect for not less 
than three (3) months and no longer than six (6) months from issue date, will be granted.   

 
• Once you receive your temporary license registration, you are immediately released as  eligible to take 

the LRR examination.  Please schedule the examination through the ICFSEB – 
www.theconferenceonline.org or by calling 479.442.7076.  The examination must be successfully 
passed by the six (6) month expiration date to receive a Louisiana license. If the LRR examination 
scores are unsuccessful, the temporary license will be expired and practicing will no longer be allowed 
until the examination has been successfully passed and a Louisiana license has been issued. 
 

• Please note – an individual working under a temporary license does not have the authority to manage a 
funeral home.  Management of a funeral home MUST be with a Louisiana license ( NOT a 
TEMPORARY license).  
 

• Please refer to the regulations on our webpage, specifically, LA R.S. 37:842 and Title 46, Chapter 7, 
707.  All of the requirements listed herein above are outlined within the regulations. 
 

• A temporary license holder MUST be employed with a Louisiana licensed funeral establishment.  
• A Louisiana licensee can only practice if employed with a Louisiana licensed funeral establishment.   

 
PLEASE NOTE: 
An individual holding a Louisiana license and who is practicing outside of Louisiana does not have 
the authority to practice in Louisiana if the licensee is not employed with a Louisiana licensed 
funeral establishment.  If this is the case, then it is required that a Louisiana licensed funeral 
establishment be contacted to handle or assist with services to be provided in Louisiana.  
 

• Refer to the regulations for further information. 
 
 

INFORMATION IS OUTLINED THOROUGHLY UPON OUR WEBSITE AND BY THE FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS.   

YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR REVIEWING AND FOLLOWING THE REGULATIONS WHICH ARE LOCATED UPON OUR 
WEBSITE. 
 

Please see below for the example of required statements; The form below may be utilized for the 
requirement – TWO (2) statements MUST be completed and submitted with application. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.theconferenceonline.org/
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Statement 1 – This statement is based on LA R.S. 37:842.  D. E.  
    
___________________ holds an active license from ___________________ and has not ceased the practice of: 
Name of applicant                                                                              State 
 
________ the science of embalming and the profession of funeral directing 
 
   Or 
 
________ the profession of funeral directing 
 
 
With said license for a period of not less than one (1) year during the prior three (3) year period in the State of __________________.. 
 
 
_________________________________________________         ______________________________________________________ 
Signature      Printed name 
 
 
SWORN AND SUBSCRIBED BEFORE ME 
THIS _________DAY OF ___________. 
 
____________________________________ County of ________________________________    SEAL 
Notary Public 
 
Number:_____________________________ 
 
My Commission expires:_______________ in the State of___________________________________________ 
 
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Statement 2 – This statement is based on LA R.S. 37:842.  D. E.  
    
___________________ holds an active license from ___________________ and has not ceased the practice of: 
Name of applicant                                                                            State 
 
________ the science of embalming and the profession of funeral directing 
 
   Or 
 
________ the profession of funeral directing 
 
 
With said license for a period of not less than one (1) year during the prior three (3) year period in the State of __________________. 
 
 
_________________________________________________         ______________________________________________________ 
Signature      Printed name 
 
 
SWORN AND SUBSCRIBED BEFORE ME 
THIS _________DAY OF ___________. 
 
__________________________________  County of ___________________________________    SEAL 
Notary Public 
 
Number:_____________________________ 
 
My Commission expires:_______________ in the State of ________________________________________________ 
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The following form must be sent to the state from which you are reciprocating from and; 
 

PLEASE CONTACT THE STATE BOARD OR COMMISSION TO VERIFY IF A FEE IS 
REQUIRED FOR THE COMPLETION OF THIS DOCUMENT.  IF A FEE IS REQUIRED, 
YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR PAYING THAT FEE FOR THIS DOCUMENT TO BE 
COMPLETED AND FORWARDED TO THE LOUISIANA STATE BAORD OF 
EMBALMERS AND FUNERAL DIRECTORS. 
 
This letter MUST be forwarded directly back to this board from the state board or commission.  
It will not be accepted from the licensee. 
 
This letter MUST be received before a license will be issued. 
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Temporary / Reciprocal License Certification 
(The State Licensing Board shall complete this document and return to the LSBEFD) 

The individual named below is applying for a license in Louisiana.  Please provide information for verification of license. 
 

Name of Applicant  
 

Please check one:  Funeral Director   Embalmer  Dual  
 

(1) License No.  (2) License No.   

License Type:   License Type   
 

Date Issued  Date Issued   
 

Expiration   Expiration   
 
Exam Average:  To be provided by The Conference       Exam Average:  To be provided by The Conference   
If the license was issued based on the State’s board exam, please provide transcript or scores  

Name of school licensee attended   
 

Has the licensee been current and in good standing for a period of five consecutive years with your State Board?   If 
NO, please explain   

 
 

Has the licensee ever been disciplined by your State Board? (Revocation, suspension, probation, etc.) 
              If YES, please explain and attach copy of final decision   

 

Are there any formal charges pending against the license?  If YES, please explain and attach copy of complaint 
   

 

Acting on behalf of  (state board), I certify that the above 
information is true and correct based on the records of this Board. 

 

_________________________________________________                                      State Seal 
Official’s Signature 

_________________________________________________ 
Print Official’s Name 
 
 
_________________________________________________ 
Email address for Official 
 
 

Return Form to:  hpenouilh@lsbefd.state.la.us or LSBEFD, 3500 N. Causeway Blvd, Suite 1232, Metairie, LA  70002              

mailto:hpenouilh@lsbefd.state.la.us
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